Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

There are some human resource managers paying more attention to applicants’ academic qualifications rather than their own experience and personalities in the interview. However, I believe that this will cause disadvantages to the company, and I will make this further discussion in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, I believe that one’s former experience can help one stay calm and tackle the obstacles efficiently while facing an emergency problem. With experiences accumulating over years, people are more likely to get familiar with their work and various situations. For example, a financial staff not only need to have the knowledge of finances or accounting but also required a precise sense of financial market trend, which is nurtured by numerous life experiences. Without it, the decision he or she made might lead to a disaster due to the wrong cognition toward the future financial market when facing a sudden change. Moreover, it is inevitable that employees need to interact with others in the company. In order to create a nice and efficient workplace, the ability of teamworking is really essential.the ability to work with a team nicely is really essential. It implies that applicants’ personality plays an important role, which can’t be underestimated. On the other hand, some may argue that formal academic qualifications are more measurable, which can directly reflect their capacity. They believe that the formal academic qualification is the only thing that can not be faked, which can also show the level of the applicant’s ability toward the work. In conclusion, I am convinced that employers paying more attention to individuals’ formal academic qualifications may result in negative development. This is because applicants’ former experience and characteristics, which help them build up a more efficient and nice working place, are more crucially important in the job.