As most people a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

As a majority of adult life is spent working, mental peace is essential to achieve which is only possible through job achievement. This essay will state that a healthy working environment and a suitable salary are the primary factors for job satisfaction, and expectations of the workers are highly unachievable. One of the primary factors needed to contribute satisfying job is a friendly environment. That is to say that, a place where co-workers support each other and provide healthy competition leads to enjoyment of work. For example, 45% of working adults prefer to go office to feel refreshed after staying at home. This shows that a friendly working place would provide fun work resulting in mental peace. Moreover, It cannot be denied that the importance of salary is also a leading factor in satisfaction, this is mostly because a profession which will fulfil the needs and wants of an individual would provide happiness to the family and to the person, possibly leading to well-being. For instance, a company which pays bonuses and other benefits with the jobs are shown to have more productive outcomes from employees. This shows that better pay leads to better productivity and mental peace. The extent of the expectation of job satisfaction is extremely unrealistic as everything cannot be provided during such an economical crisis. To be more clear, most good-paying companies demands overload outputs and extra working hours resulting in frustrations and disruption of healthy workplace surrounding. For instance, a survey showed decreased number of outings among colleagues, when the workload of the company increases. This shows that there is no such ideal setting for companies which can facilitate their employer totally as they themselves are under an economical crisis. In conclusion, although a healthy environment and a good pay scale are the key points for job satisfaction with well-being, it is important to realise that these expectations are not realistic in such an economic crisis situation.