Tourism today creates a variety of problems, such as pollution due to flights, traffic congestion and water pollution. Do you think that governments should impose extra taxes on flights or accommodation to restrict today’s tourism industry?

Without a doubt, touristry has a considerable positive contribution to the local economy in a particular province. Unfortunately, this industry leads to several problems, including but not limited to water pollution and traffic congestion. However, in order to address those challenges, instead of implementing lefty taxes for the flight industry, the government must find a better way to manage its setbacks on local activities. First, a significant reason why I believe the authority should not restrict the tourism business is that this aspect has created job opportunities for domestic people. Especially in places that heavily depend on their tourism market's steady earnings, such as Indonesia and Singapore. Second, there is a significant amount of money gained from the travel business that offers flights and accommodation products. As a result, this yields a huge benefit for the nation's economy and proves that this sector protects a country from an economic downturn. Thus, limiting this industry is counterproductive to the country's economic resiliency. Instead of imposing higher taxes, perhaps the government ought to create a program to bring awareness to society in terms of their cleanliness. For instance, they could initiate pro-bono community services to encourage a larger society to always put their own trash in the bin nearby which results in keeping the region clean. In addition, the central authority needs to create a policy to encourage travellers to use public transportation for commuting. For example, in NYC, tourists could sign up for a cheaper subway price for their mobility. This way, the heavy congestion could be avoided. In conclusion, the government should be able to manage tourism by creating a better system to protect urban liveliness. Rather than applying higher taxes for the travel company, they should encourage local communities to protect their own home nation.