Few people think that it is important for collecting personal information such interest, hobbies and material status. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Recruitment is considered the most significant process in the corporate world. A section of society has a viewpoint that during the process, capturing data regarding recreational activities and marital status is extraneous, however, others disagree with the viewpoint and think that it must be part of hiring. This essay will discuss both these viewpoints extensively in the subsequent paragraphs followed by my opinion in the conclusion. To initiate with, the collection of personal data is imperative for the employer to choose the best fit for the team. To explicate, every organization has a different culture, and this information helps the manager to select the right candidate who can mix well, and therefore can be retained for a longer period. For instance, in India, few companies seek extrovert candidates who are good conversationalists, resulting which them rejecting married girls as married girls are found less open due to their marital obligations. Thus, the aforementioned reasons substantiate why it is relevant to ask for these details. On the contrary, asking personal questions is irrelevant as there is no link between a person’s interests and his performance in the job. To explain, an individual’s marital status and leisure activities have no relation with his performance and capability that will be explicated at the workplace because it is the individual’s educational qualification and experience that will be counted in the company. For example, many employees are rejected during the interview because of contrasting interests to that of the interviewer, and sometimes because of their status of marriage. Hence, the above example clearly demonstrates why it is not advisable to ask regarding personal information. To conclude, this essay clearly discussed that asking for personal details has no connection with the candidate’s performance, while few hold the belief that it helps in selecting the best fit for their company. From my point of view, it is advisable to ask for details regarding avocation and marriage because it will help the employer to select the right candidate because an employee will be able to perform the best in a familiar environment where he will feel himself, and also, the organization will be able to retain the same candidate for a longer duration.