One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are ? What solutions can you suggest ?

Through the following essay I am going to analyse the current global matter that almost every large city in the world faces every day, this is, problems with huge traffic congestions during rush hours. Over the last century the usage of motor vehicles like cars or motorbikes has become the most popular means of transportation for the human kind. I believe that the main reasons for this are the comfort, and the facilities that the car and motorbike companies offer to their clients to pay off for their new or used vehicles. However, it is very noticeable that there is an overpopulation of cars and motorcycles in the world, since pretty much every family has at least 1 out of this 2 means of transportation, and this alongside many other factors, would be the principal cause of the traffic congestion. I have done an analysis of the whole matter and I have come to a possible solution that could work to moderate the congestion during the peak hours. The solution consists to implement a prohibition one day a week for certain cars, according to its last plate number, to be driven. This would force the drivers to use alternative means to transport themselves and so there would be less congestion. To finalise I must say that this is a very wide topic with a no easy solution, and that in the end it is up to each one of us to contribute in any manner to solve this problem.