The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

These days, since children living in developed countries have bad habits of eating, many of them usually have a large number of problems related to their health. To elaborate, nowadays, children can find any kind of food they want to eat in the supermarkets or shops they usually go to.Indeed, their parents often allow them to purchase there any kind of chocolate, cake or sweet they like even though these types of products usually contain high levels of sugar and fat. Besides this, kids might eat ready-made foods such as pasta, meat and vegetable when they have dinner or lunch due to the fact that their mothers are not willing to cook for them some meals at home. However, as many people really have bad eating habits, not only adults but also children usually have a lot of difficulties checking under control their load. Consequently, in case children overcome their standard weight or become fat, people tend to bring their kids to a dietologist so he or she could teach them how many calories they need to assume daily. Besides this, certain diseases such as obesity and diabetes have been spreading among those who are 5-12 years old around in the last years. In conclusion, I personally think that if relatives and teachers teach any kid how to eat healthily they would learn what nutrients they can or cannot to eat whenever they have a meal or break.