Some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experiences and personal qualities when they look for an employee. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development.

In this competitive era, recruiters give more value to university or college degrees than practical experience and interpersonal skills. The upcoming paragraphs will shed light on the reasons behind such a mindset of recruiting managers. In my opinion, this is definitely an unnecessary development and has several adverse consequences on the growth of corporates. To begin with, there are primarily two logics, of why employers give more preference to college pass-outs than experienced candidates and individuals with quality traits. Firstly, some jobs genuinely require sufficient academic knowledge such as software developers, doctors, data analysers and others. Secondly, it is a general perception that a degree holder will definitely be a hard worker. This is because, due to increasing competition, earning a degree or a certificate has become a bit challenging task. However, focusing only on a degree and ignoring an individual’s experience and skills is a negative development. The first and foremost logic behind my opinion is that even the academically qualified employee need good communication skill to apply his/her knowledge in practical life. In order to adjust to a formal working atmosphere and get familiar with the style and pattern of working, one needs good personality traits such as flexibility, adaptability and integrity, which cannot be developed with the passage of time whereas, technical knowledge can be improved with the help of induction and technical training. In addition to this, it is believed that experienced staff start productivity from the very beginning, while freshers or recent graduates take time to understand the work culture and hence, this may impact the productivity of the company. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that although academic qualifications play a significant role. But, I believe ignoring experience and personality traits can hurt corporates' productivity and work environment.