Some people think that only staff who worked in a company for a long time should be promoted to a higher position. What's your opinion?

It is true that there are many important factors to select an employee for a higher position. Although the length of service plays a major role when it comes to internal promotion, I think other criteria, such as employee productivity and opinion reception, are considered more significant. There are some reasons why long-time employees should be promoted. First, they are familiar with their company's operations and policies. This means that they would be readily adaptable to existing procedures and handle business-related issues more effectively, which helps them run the company smoothly thanks to many years of work experience. Second, if long-time staff members were not promoted to a senior position with a well-paid salary, they would leave the company. As a result, this causes the company to lose a highly qualified person and makes it harder to compete with other competitors. Nevertheless, there are some reasons why excellent work performance and opinion reception are more important for high-rank positions. Since higher positions require individuals to be in charge of complicated assignments, these individuals must be competent and creative. In fact, although some people just worked for a few months or years, they could not only adopt new approaches but also devise many feasible plans to lead the company better. In addition, in order to grow a business further, senior managers are willing to listen to other staff members' ideas. For example, my current senior manager, who just joined the organization over one year, has secured a large number of lucrative contracts with some corporations because he always refers to his colleagues' constructive opinions, resulting in increased profits for the business thanks to creative proposals and strategies. In conclusion, although implementing a policy of promoting long-serving members is often recommended, it is also wise to take the performance and the ability to listen to others into consideration.