Children in some parts of the world have less responsibility compared to children in the past. Some people think it is a positive change, however others think of it as a negative change. What do you think?

The economic and political advancements in certain regions of the world grant children a life with fewer worries as they don’t have to shoulder the burdens that fiscal disadvantage once inflicted upon their previous generations. The reduced responsibilities, however, do not bode well for their long-term growth despite their imminent appeal. Children today, mostly in the first world, treat their studies as their focal point, and this has greatly simplified their lives, making it deceptively smooth. Their accommodation, food, laundry, sports, travel in-between schools, and even their social circle quality are well taken care of by their “helicopter parents” who forcefully bulldoze everything that stands in the way of their next generations, in the hope that their offsprings would grab what they want with virtually zero difficulty. One would assume that this arrangement guarantees a pathway of care-free life, but what those helicopter parents fail to take into account is the fact that life is a not linear calculation. The extremely reductionistic life challenges and responsibilities would be more of a bane than a boon. No single child would work hard if s/he is brought up to know that s/he could have everything with a simple voice mail. Being truly accomplished in life requires a robust problem-solving skill that those parents unintentionally deprive their children of. In the past, youngsters not only have academic grades on their plates. They have to trial and error in social relationships, sports, food, and even worry about tuition. The obstacles and responsibilities are what make humans complete as lives are complex, and it is only through combating those thorny problems that children sharpen their life skills, fortifying their will. It is no coincidence that Nelson Mandela was a homeless child before he became the President of South Africa; it is no surprise that Barack Obama was an abandoned kid before he was the President of the United States of America; it is preciously the thousands of days and nights Elon Musk spent in his room to study coding and constructing principles that make him the richest person in the world. And I doubt those would become who they are if their childhood accountabilities are lessened. In a nutshell, responsibilities in life do not diminish us, they empower us. Striping away obstacles children should be facing does them more of a disservice than a blessing.