In some countries, it is illegal for companies to reject job applicants for their age. Is this a positive or negative development?

Age discrimination in the work place is prohibited by law. While some claim a younger workforce is necessary for satisfying productivity and innovation, others argue that the practice of setting age requirement is contributing to the rising global unemployment crisis. From my perspective, I believe age discrimination is harmful and has negative impacts on the workforce. First of all, older applicants come with expertise in a particular field. For instance, scientists who have devoted their time in a laboratory can conduct various experiments efficiently regardless different equipment and tools whereas recruits fresh out of school need to learn the basis. Moreover, such precious knowledge can only be passed down by those experts. Therefore, even though they might fall behind in productivity over time, their experience gained from many years of work is still valuable, especially to help trainees adapt to the new environment when they are hired. Secondly, seniors are better equipped to predict and prevent unexpected problems, especially the tension between colleagues. Micro-aggression might arise in a competitive environment such as the workspace. Older workers can to help maintain an amicable environment because they are adroit at detecting and de-escalating a hostile situation from the beginning. This soft skill comes from spending hours on work and getting used to different people with different personalities. To conclude, with age comes wisdom and knowledge. Therefore, in my opinion, legislation protecting job applicants from age discrimination is a necessary and positive development.