Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is ? what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In last few decades, car sales were increased enormously. However, our transport facility are unable to accommodate such copious growth, which in turn leads to the traffic Jam in most of the cities around the world. I do feel that increasing the car ownership is one major cause of high traffic jams in big cities. The essay discusses how crowding of vehicles creates a rush on the road and role of government to reduce the same via incorporating suitable infrastructure development. To begin with, influence of increase of car owners on traffic across the major cities- the key reason was high person to vehicle ratio and space constraints in existing road transport system. Firstly, if number of car owner increase, vehicle per person will be higher which leads to traffic. For instance, earlier people depends on public transport, where the number of vehicle requirement person was less. Hence, it is apparent that existing system can accommodate the vehicle and ultimately traffic will be less. Secondly, existing infrastructure ambiguous the number of light motor vehicles on the transport sector. For example, the rate of four wheelers increased rapidly. But, the extension of roads, space increment, additional new roads are not sufficient to equalise this rapid change in the car numbers on the road. Although, the number of four wheeler owner increment can cause traffic, we cannot avoid this because of increase of population and high life expectancy in this era. On the other hand, government can contribute to avoid such traffic related issues by road development programmes and give a proper traffic rule system. Firstly, an adequate broadening and construction of new roads and appropriate fly overs can resolve the issue some extent. Because of improving road infrastructure, system can accommodate this increase number. Secondly, the authorities should incorporate proper traffic rules and special road for four wheelers which could reduce the problems related to rush on roads. This is evident from how some of the recent development on the infrastructure, fly overs help to reduce the traffic in some cities. To conclude, by taking an appropriate step by the government in the transport system development can address the traffic problems associated with big towns.