Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

This is the era or globalisation and world trade and business. This has enabled us to keep better diplomatic and business relationship with many other countries and products produced in a country could easily be found in another country. However, this requires the products and foods to be travelled to a long distance before reaching to the consumers of other countries and this has both negative and positive consequences. In my opinion, this has far more advantages than the drawbacks. On one hand, a country should first try to be self-sufficient rather than relying heavily on imported goods. Foods, vegetables and fruits should not be imported from other countries since the long distance travel of such commodities degraded their food values. Moreover, importing from other countries is quite costly. Finally, a country should try to produce daily necessities by themselves as it would eradicate the poverty, unemployment and would also make sure the better economic progress of a country. On the contrary, the advantages of the global economy and trade are highlighted often and it is true that being self-sufficient for all countries are quite impossible. Some countries are better for agriculture, some for industrial productions, some for food processing and some others for technologies and thus each nation has their unique ability to do well in some specific sectors. Thus no country can locally produce everything their people need. First and foremost advantages of importing products from other countries is that a country can enjoy those short of goods without even producing them. For instance, many countries enjoy tea and coffee even though they do not locally produce them. Second, sometimes importing is less expensive than producing something and not every country has the environment and manpower to do so. Third, transportation system nowadays is becoming more efficient and in the near future, it will take less time to supply goods from another country to another. The global economy enables a country to export products to other nations rather than wasting them and this has proven to be a strong revenue earning area for many countries. People nowadays have more choices of their products and global economy hit the monopoly so hard that people can enjoy global branded products at a competitive price. In summary, more time to transport daily commodities from one country to other has some demerits. However the endless advantages they bring are quite overwhelming.