Some employers are willing to give their workers a certain amount of unpaid sabbatical* time, believing this benefits the individual and the organisation. Other employers see no merit in this arrangement and discourage it. Consider the possible arguments for and against unpaid sabbatical leave, and reach a viewpoint of your own.

Every individual needs to take some time off the work to refresh his body and mind. Some institutions grant unpaid resting periods to their employees, considering it beneficial for the person as well as the organisation. I strongly agree with this leave policy. This essay will discuss some of the pros and cons of the topic and will give a valid opinion in the end. On the one hand, giving leave to the workers for some have several positive sides. To commence with, It restores their energy which will ultimately be advantageous for both the labour as well as the organisation. In other words, individuals come with a fresh mind and work better for the company. Furthermore, employees can spend this free time with their families and friends and as a result, they will become socialised and more creative. For example, they will deal with their colleagues in a much better way which will lead to better outcomes for the working place. Additionally, employees can use this period to develop new skills and attend workshops for their professional growth. on the other hand, this leave policy has some drawbacks as well. To begin with, individuals feels insecure about their job and finds it difficult to meet their needs without any salary. This can negatively affect their ability to do duties. For instance, a person with unpaid leave has to feed his family without any income which will be a stressful time for the worker. Moreover, the company may lose their labour due to the insecurities adhered to the unpaid leaves. To elaborate upon this point, people who have unpaid leave for a longer period will search for other jobs to meet their demands and may find this job more appealing than the previous one. To sum up, although unpaid leaves are useful for the individual and organisation. Nevertheless, in my opinion, leaves should be paid so that individuals are not discouraged and this will finally benefit the institution.