In some companies, social skills are given priority over qualifications when screening their possible employees. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

When screening employees, social skills are one of the factors that are more important than qualifications. However, there are several advantages and disadvantages of this situation. Here I will discuss on both sides. Social skills are the predominant factor that can help employees to adapt fast to a new workplace environment. It will be challenging for those who are shy and afraid to make a move for doing a small talk to create good atmosphere among co-workers. If we work with people, it will require high skill in communication in order to deliver our ideas and need precisely. The impact of not having the ability to talk with people, especially to someone whose position is on a higher level, can give difficulties in working with a team, one of them is the feeling of awkwardness because we think they might judge us. Of course, it can be uncomfortable to work with people who are difficult to get along with. Thus, having a good communication skill to adapt to any kind of people's personality is crucial in order to survive in workplace. On the contrary, there are disadvantages of focusing too much on social skills. The reason is because employees will get overwhelmed with the amount of task when they do not have any specific skills that can help them to finish it. Also, having great skills that match with company's needs can give them chance to get a high salary and move to higher-level positions. Furthermore, academic validation still is needed to check the responsibility of employees to finish their studies and this can be dug deeper in the interview process. Checking employees's study backgrounds and their ability can help a company to assess and consider whether they will be capable to be involved in the company's cultures and be responsible in a particular job. In conclusion, social skills are important to have great networking with people from different positions. However, having a specific skill that can be beneficial to a company is more crucial because it can give a lot of opportunities which I have mentioned above. Thus, I strongly disagree that social skills are more important than qualifications when choosing potential employees.