Some people think that universities should provide graduate with the knowledge and the skills needed in the workplace. Other think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What is your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Certain individuals opine that tertiary education should give students critical skills needed in society, whereas, others think it is not the responsibility of the universities to do that. Instead, tertiary schools must be concerned about running regardless of the courses it offers. I, however, think that universities should offer useful degrees to students. The essay below will discuss these views at length. To begin with, many graduates from universities are jobless despite the fact that they are educated. This is because the degree programs they were offered turned useless. For example, a 2019 study in Malawi by a well-known journalist Hopewell Chinono found that more than 89 per cent of people who graduated in 15 years were unemployed. Some of them were found on the streets and markets selling airtime and tomatoes. If colleges had useful courses, such cases would be few. Thus, I support the idea that universities must provide critical skills education. Furthermore, some people think the main purpose of the university is to impart knowledge and nothing more. They further state that when someone is educated, she or he must desist from pride and take any job offered to them. After all, 'a degree is just a piece of paper. I think this is unfair and wrong because it affects society in a negative way. To illustrate, many degree holders in Zimbabwe are currently flocking to South Africa to do crimes. Some are even going to the United Kingdom to do care work with others are being scammed and losing a lot of money. If universities taught critical courses, such cases would be few. Thus, I strongly think that universities must teach relevant courses. In conclusion, I support the idea that universities must teach relevant courses which will help people to get employed after graduation. The essay above has discussed this view at length.