Sending criminals to prison is not the best method of dealing with them. Education and job training are better ways to help them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over the best way to handle criminals. While some claim that keeping them contained should be considered the optimal tactic, the opposite makes a statement that education and job orientation are the better solution to help those perpetrators. While the former is valid to some extent, I regard myself as an advocate of the latter. Without a shadow of a doubt, putting offenders behind the bars is not the best means to cope with them. On the grounds that the authorities should depend on the level of seriousness of the crime in order to consider the proper manners to deal with them. For example, some misdemeanors such as drawing graffiti on the wall and shoplifting, the governors should consider a fine for those who commit those acts. Moreover, a wealth of felonies like sexual assault, murdering of causing a pressing loss of properties and lives, it is necessary for the government to make law breaker imprisoned. By doing so, the society can be safer and avoid those criminals reoffending. Hence, imprisoning the criminals is not the most efficient way to fight against crime. While the inefficiency of sending the perpetrators to jail is widely acknowledged, there are more different methods to reduce crimes, especially providing them with education and job orientation. While the former can bring those criminals great awareness of their faults in the past, the latter can help them earn a living. In doing so they can reintegrate into the community and crime rates can be reduced. Therefore they also can become good citizens in society. For instance, in Vietnam, there are a wide range of reformatories for juvenlie criminals, which provide prisoners education and job training. Therefore, education and job training should be cited as two of the most efficient methods to rehabilitate the offenders. To sum up, although sentencing is suitable for some certain kinds of criminals, it is not the optimal manner to apply on a mass scale. Instead, education and job orientation are the more effecient tactics in order to help offenders change.