Private car ownership has been increasing over the past few decades. This has given ordinary people greater mobility, but has also led to concerns about traffic congestion and air pollution. Do the advantages of private car ownership outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the use of vechicles has become the easiest means of transportation and most individuals want to own one for their comforts and conveniences. Therefore, there had been increased rate of ownership of cars which can sometimes lead to traffic jam and severe air pollution. However, I think the merits of owning a car surpass the demerits. Firstly, the development in vechicles have made movement easier and faster and aside these, there are also other advantages like comfort, freedom to do anything whilst driving, it's safer, cheaper transportation fee especially for the entire family etc. When people have free access or own a car, they feel relaxed and unbothered when invited to an occasion and their only problem will be fueling it. For instance, my uncle once had some difficulties transporting his family for events, and decided to get a sienna which is big enough for the entire family of 6 which would have been very costly taking them down to a gathering without their personal vechicles and most importantly it helps them in case of emergencies, that is if, one kid is sick, they easily rushed him to the hospital rather than looking for a taxi to pick them up. On the other hand, oweing owning vechicles can be very exhausting in terms of maintainance, repairs, stressful in driving, expensive to buy and quite difficult to learn and obtain a license. For example, the amount of maintaining a car is more than the amount of purchasing one. The negative effects of increased of ownership of cars includes road traffic accidents due to reckless driving or bad roads, air and noise pollutions and traffic jams. However, these are issues that can be resolved by good functional traffic schemes with strict rules and regulations. In conclusion, personal car owners are at more advantages than disadvantages and the governments can supervise and assist the road regulatory authority by providing good roads which lead to easy flow of jams and noise and air pollution will therefore be reduced.