Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been held some debates about to what extent students have choice to study whatever they want. While some people believe that students should be forced to certain subjects, I am of the opinion that they should be able to study the course of their choice. When students have a right to choose their major, it brings some advantages for them. Firstly, having a basic knowledge of their subject, they are more motivated to take in lessons. Although, it might be different from what they perceive earlier. Secondly, due to natural aptitude of people, students excel in different fields. To illustrate, it is hard for a student who have natural talent in literature to study other subjects such as mathematics. Therefore, if inherent abilities are neglected, it will posses a strong pressure on students which might make them drop out or dabble in studying or even never participate in university entrance examination. Conversely, others believe that since the young students are not well-informed about the job opportunities of major in labour markets, it is better to lead them to the right way. Nevertheless, they will be regretted when it comes to finding job in future. To sum up, although some people advocate the notion of compelling students to selected subjects, I am convinced that compulsory education not only declines motivation of studying but also results in drop-out.