In today’s job market it is far more important to have practical skills than theoretical knowledge. in the future, job applicants may not need any formal qualification. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, market has shown an increasing interest in recruiting employees with better practical skills rather than the ones with academic qualifications. While this may challenge the need for requiring educational degrees in order to enter the job market, I disagree that in the future the role of academical education might diminish. In today’s tough economy, choosing a career early on is considered common. Youngsters are more inclined to start earning money and to enter a workplace as soon as possible rather than spending their time and youth in prolonged academic courses. For these reasons, pragmatic short courses, which are cost-benefit and have momentary tangible results, have become a popular demand. For instance, these days cryptocurrency has become a source of investment and income for many people. It can be seen that many enter this field solely by attending a 1-week training program without any prior academical knowledge regarding economic literacy or socio-political determinants of this market which, in my opinion, could work as a double-edged sword. While some might multiply their money, many may face failure or even bankruptcy. However, learning is considered a process, beginning from acquiring knowledge and having comprehension, proceeding to analyzing this imparted knowledge, ending eventually with creating new information and applying it in real-life situations. Therefore, I believe the academic education is a vital component to obtain the above-mentioned steps, to have a deep conception of the field of occupation, and to facilitate the way towards a higher status with better salary and income. In other words, although earning a living as soon as possible is salient, without proper education climbing the socio-economic ladder would become harder. For instance, currently another growing trend is the rise of cosmetic and aesthetic procedures. One of the challenges of this is the entrance of unknown number of unqualified practitioners who do not have correct medical training to this industry with simply learning under the supervision of another unlicensed worker or just taking a fast-track course. Despite the fact that these practitioners may have adequate hands-on skills, they do not have the required basic knowledge regarding this subject. As a consequence, this has led to a higher number of adverse effects and even death in some cases. In conclusion, having an academical knowledge and degree would never be completely replaced by shorttime short-time, pragmatical courses even though there has been a shift leaning toward the latter.