Some businesses find that their new employees lack in basic interpersonal skills such as lack of ability to work With colleagues as a team. What are the causes and suggest possible solutions

Collaborative working is getting more popular nowadays. However, some businesses may find their employees struggling to work together. This essay shall examine some factors that cause difficulties in co-working and suggest several solutions. Discouragement in working together may be caused by some external factors. Firstly, nowadays, social media brings many negative influences on how people interact with each other. For instance, in offices, employees are more inclined to stare at their phones during breaks to find entertainment. This distraction discourages employees from bonding with others. Moreover, some workplaces may not offer a suitable environment to work collaboratively. Workstations, for instance, are arranged in a grid layout with panels, blocking workers from each other. These external factors not only prevent workers from connecting with others; but also deteriorate workers ' collaborative skills. Some potential solutions can come from the businesses themselves. Companies should start by encouraging their employees to build a relationship with each other. This can be done, for example, through occasional outings, which include team-building exercises. This way, people are able to connect informally with each other. Consequently, once they get comfortable, collaborative working will happen naturally. In addition, businesses should also provide workplaces that support co-working. As an example, workplaces can include informal rooms for employees to connect during breaks, namely, entertainment rooms and lunch rooms. These interventions can train employees to connect informally with each other before ultimately performing better in collaborative tasks. In conclusion, workers are unable to work together because of several aspects, such as distractions from social media and unsupportive workplaces. However, there are a few solutions that can be implemented to mitigate this, namely, regular office team-building programs and providing workers with a collaborative working environment.