As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

The degree of being satisfied with your job is directly proportional to the well-being of an individual as most adults spend a lot of time in their work. In this essay, I will discuss how some factors contribute someone to feeling satisfied with their job and how realistic the employees feel regarding their career satisfaction. Firstly, a positive uplifting work environment plays a major role in providing much happier employees. When people are encouraged and admired they will perform better. For instance, a recent study in the USA stated that there was a 70% rise in the performance of the employees in a business firm after providing daily motivational speeches. So it is evident that positivity reforms employees to do better. Secondly, an individual's passion towards the job is a crucial factor. If we are not working in a field where we do not have any interest after some time we will get bored and finally be depressed. This is exemplified by many workers who claim that they were forced into a certain job due to a lack of employment in their favourite field or uncontrolled family pressure. So being enrolled in a job where you feel passionate about working is much more important. However, it is easier said than done. To achieve this level of satisfaction a myriad of factors should contribute equally and is rarely observed in these times. But, if both parties (the employee and the company) try to do their part by developing their strengths and outweighing the weaknesses, they will be able to get an obtainable result, a happy satisfied and accomplished employee. In conclusion, achieving job satisfaction in a certain job is a target that seems impossible and unrealistic, but, obtainable with a better understanding of employees and the company.