Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

These days, a public debate has been going on over whether some subjects are more important than others in school. While History classes are supported by some people, others tend to agree that Science and Technology have a high relevance in the learning process. Personally, I am in favour of the former view. Three main factors support the idea that History is one of the main content to be taught to students. Firstly, in these classes students learn how we arrived in today's society. In other words, background information about the past facilitates understanding the present, and allows to project the future, therefore critical thought is created. Besides, Science and Technology make part of the historical development of our race, hence it is part of our historical process. That is to say, an interest towards these courses would be incentivized by a teacher. For instance, a child who read a book about the impact of computers over industrial modernization and other technologies will understand better the use and application of this. A third reason for my belief is that historical knowledge leads students to be aware of why other subjects are important to them, which means to turn other classes more attractive. I admit that, learning to cope with technological resources and scientific achievements is important to prepare a person to work. Despite that, historical content can facilitate the connection of those necessities. In conclusion, I would argue that science and technology are important but the development of humans over time is one of the most important contents at school. Overall I am convinced that schools should give more support to History classes.