Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective.

There is no doubt, that traffic and pollution from vehicles have become a big problem in both cities and on the motorway everywhere. The solution to this problem is likely more than to increase price of petroleum. This essay will discuss that just by increasing fuel cost we cannot tackle this problem as some other measures are also necessary. Over-crowding on roads has been increasing day by day, which also lead to air pollution and noise pollution in cities. Smoke from the cars, buses and lorries etc is contributing to the air pollution and pollutants like sulphur dioxide, nitric oxide and carbon emissions are affecting people's health badly. As well, the noise produced by Horns of vehicles lead to noise pollution which in turn causes health issues like insomnia, agitation and anxiety. These major problems demand suitable solutions other than lifting the fuel prices up, as this practice will only lead to economic crises and inflation. However, some effective measures can be taken to solve this problem. First of all, fuel cars should be replaced by electronic cars because these are driven by solar energy, therefore no pollutants will be emitted. In addition to that, promoting air trains and underground tunnels for transport is the perfect way to deal with traffic congestion. For instance, Elon Musk's project of underground transport is a step to reduce traffic on roads. Another important strategy can be implemented that is awareness of using public transport, as this only a quick way to reduce number of vehicles. In conclusion, traffic problems can be solved by adapting measures like use of public transport, electric cars and air trains. And harmful pollutants in air can be converted into less harmful chemicals by using carbon dioxide converters in cars.