Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and insterets whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In most companies, employers who handled the interview and other job selection phases usually asking for various and detail personal data such as whether they were taken or not or even about their most likable activity during their leisure time. Reacting to this fact, many people disagree because they don’t see any urgency for employers to collect those data. This statement, however, is debatable due to a number of reason. This essay will discuss why some personal data are really important to be collected by the employers. Firstly, companies, especially a big one, tend to have strict selection criteria. The applicants that being admitted are those who suit the company needs and also have a good track records in their past. Therefore, asking applicants some personal question are being used by majority of companies around the world for background check purposes. For instance, by asking about applicants social media, companies can track their history of social media usage including their past tweets, photos, and many more. Secondly, applying to some companies is the same as meeting new people. Employers always think that the applicants is a stranger because they have never met them before. Therefore, asking for a personal information is a natural way for employers to get to know their applicants better. For example, on the previous stage, employers only have limited knowledge about their applicants. For technical purposes, however, employers must know some specific information such as interest and field of knowledge. By asking those personal questions directly, employers can determine which applicants is most suitable for them. In conclusion, people, especially job applicants, often feel annoyed when they have been asked about their private information. But, for a good reason, we have to admit that companies also have their own considerations before accepting applicants. I think, by asking some direct private question, as long as it is not the confidential one, companies can be better off in terms of selecting the right people for them.