Because of the global economy, many goods including what we use as daily basics produced by other countries have to be transported for a long distance. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Globalisation has revolutionized our world in many aspects. Now, we do not belong to the biggest planet Earth. We own a small global village. Everything is available everywhere. There are many advantages and disadvantages of transporting goods over a long distance. In my opinion, the pros outweigh the cons. On the positive side, transporting goods over a long distance gives us a lot of choices. We can taste a variety of fruits and vegetables from all parts of the world. For example, about ten years ago, we hardly saw the kiwi fruit, which is from New Zealand. Nevertheless, now it has a place on every fruit stand. Earlier, We have very few shoe brands like bata and carona, nonetheless now the market is flooded with Reeboks, Nike, Adidas and other Foreign brands. Secondly, many people get employment in the import and export field. Small businesses have a chance to expand globally and it increases the overall economy of the country. Finally, it helps in developing good relations between countries, which helps in international cooperation and peace. If countries are dependent upon one another for economic success, then they would not go against each other. On the other hand, importing goods can harm local culture. For instance, Indians used to give a lot of importance to the family meal, wherein all the members sat around the table and conversed with each other over dinner, nevertheless the young generation is going for fast foods and prefers to eat alone. Secondly, diversity is being lost and everyone is wearing similar clothes, eating similar food, watching the same TV programs and listening to the same music. This is making the whole world dull. Another major disadvantage is pollution. When goods are transported thousands of miles by road, sea and air, it increases pollution from exhaust fumes. To conclude, Importing goods has both merits and demerits but the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.