Nowadays both men and women spend a lot of money on beauty care. This was not so in the past. What may be the root cause of this behaviour? Discuss the reasons and possible results.

In the present time, caring about beauty is in vogue for both males and females, and they spend a considerable amount of money on it, which is opposite to the past situation. There can be many reasons for it, such as demand in society, more awareness, easy availability of products, raising the standard of living compared to the past and many more. This change can have good and worst outcomes, which I will discuss in the upcoming paragraphs. In the 21st century, people are more concerned about how they look. They try to put effort into looking perfect. The main reason is that nowadays, many people judge each other on their looks. Many professional jobs demand individuals to stay updated, which is necessary for both men and women. For instance, a survey found that people who look good or follow trends and stay updated have more chances of getting a job in certain professions such as Air hostess, Receptionist and many more. Moreover, looking good provides confidence to individuals. With this, they perform well in their careers. Furthermore, people are now more aware of maintaining their beauty compared to the past. They do not hesitate to visit dermatologists or beauty parlours to improve their appearances. Moreover, the availability of these service providers is also higher than in the past. In addition, the affordability of individuals has risen these days. In other words, people have enough money to spend on things rather than the necessities of life, which was not the case in the past. In the past, people used to struggle to make ends meet. Hence, they never got a chance to think about their looks in the past.