In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

It is true that the number of installed cameras has being Change the form of the verb been show examples increased in many countries all over the world to deter crime. However, a segment of society is satisfied with these cameras, others believe that they have invaded our privacy. First and foremost, the surveillance camera at public places leads to the restriction of our personal freedom. These cameras capture and record every moment which make some people feel uncomfortable and lead them to act carefully. While it is not a major issue, it can be certainly a nuisance at some times. Even so, I would approve that the benefits from expanded recorder cameras in the streets are more effective than its limitations. Firstly, these cameras can offer safe public places by reducing criminal activities. Secondly, seeing surveillance camera in the place might put people off criminal behavior. They understand that they are being watched and this prevented them from doing crimes. For example, Kuwait, which is a safe country, the rate of crimes has been decreased in the latest years due to the spread of the recorded cameras everywhere. Of course, all too often, the existence of police officers helps the society to be safer by deterring the people from crime, but the camera has advantages over the human law keepers. Unlike a human police officer, the camera does not fall asleep and plays all the time in all days. In conclusion, the features of utilizing video cameras around cities to improve security of the society overweigh the disadvantages.