In modern times, young adults are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occurred? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

Nowadays, young people tend to spend more time with their friends than with their families. This change has taken place due to the smaller numbers of people living in each house these days and guardians shouldn’t force their children to stay at home as this would not foster good relationships within the family. Young people spend more of their free time with their friends due to the fact they generally have fewer family members. Today, a person oughts to look outside the family unit for someone to interact with as most households are made up of tiny nuclear families, which is in stark contrast to the past when a plethora of siblings, cousins and grandparents all lived together. This inevitably leads to them developing closer relationships with non-family and choosing to enjoy their leisure time outside the home. For example, in Britain, the number of members per household has decreased by around half in the last 50 years. It is not advisable for a mother or father to oblige their son or daughter to spend more time with them as this will not create a situation where the family bond well with each other. If young adults feel that they ought to stay at home under duress, they will be in a bad mood as they don’t have abundant control over their lives, and they will not enjoy any interactions they have with their parents. For instance, a recent article in the Huffington Post argued that it is the quality of time rather than the quantity that ensures a good parent-child relationship. This way, youngsters should be enough self-motivated in order to build relationships with their parents instead of being forced to do so. In conclusion, juveniles are spending a greater amount of time with their friends than with their families owing to the fact that there is a tiny company available and parents should not force their children to do otherwise in light of the fact that this would damage their relationship rather than improve it.