People are consuming more and more sugar-based drinks. Why? What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

Consumption of drinks loaded with sugar has become a major challenge. Compelling advertisements and addiction to sugar are the main causes behind this issue. So, there is a need to spread awareness of healthy eating habits to solve the problem. To commence, there are two main factors which are aggravating this problem. Firstly, appealing advertisements by food-chain brands motivate people to consume such drinks. For instance, Mc Donalds and Burger King run million-dollar ads to attract more consumers. Secondly, people get addicted to sugary drinks as these have been found to be more addictive than any drug. Hence, there is a need to address this issue as a priority. To solve this problem, we need to focus on two fronts. Firstly, awareness campaigns can help to make people aware of the side effects of consuming such drinks. For instance, the 'Eat Right campaign' in India reduced the obesity level by 7.5% within a decade. The Information will empower citizens to choose healthier options. Secondly, governments must regulate these restaurants to use organic sugar produced from coconut and jaggery. Using less-processed sugar will help consumers to stay fit even after consuming such items. Furthermore, we can request celebrities to promote healthy eating habits. For instance, Christiano Ronaldo, a famous sportsperson, removed a soft drink from the table while giving an interview. To conclude, consumer awareness and industry regulation will bring positive results. Overall, we can end this issue if we involve all relevant stakeholders in the discussion. Governments can share their experiences on the international platform to reduce the consumption of sugar.