Nowadays some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this knowledge-based society, some employers often prefer people who have formal academic degrees rather than people who are rich in practical experience or personal skills. From my point of view, I still believe that this is a completely negative movement. There are two elements to explain why some job recruiters put priority on university qualifications when they look for employees. Firstly, academic degrees play a vital role in valuing hierarchical majors. For example, in some illustrious jobs such as doctor, or lawyer, there is in need for equipment with formal qualifications. The greater degree is, the more dense knowledge they get. On the other hand, I think that this is a dive repercussion for the modern society and non-academic job hunters should be treated equally in the recruiting process. Instead of starting tertiary education, other people who pursue vocational training will have much more practical experiences. Especially, the unexpected pitfalls are cropped up that they do not foresee, life skills will boost their consciousness and help them tackle those predicaments easier. In conclusion, this trend is attributable to two main reasons, and I strongly believe that this is a negative development for the above-mentioned argument.