Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam." How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

The number of people owning cars has reportedly increased in the last 30 years. It makes cities in the entire world have to deal with serious issues of traffic congestion. I believe that in these days, it truly occurs as more people can afford cars to get convenience in traveling or commuting, but roadways seem uneasy to expand. Government should think of this problem seriously whether to give alternative in transportation or limit the car ownership by raising the tax. It is true that more and more people in recent days have cars. In my village in the developping country, Indonesia, people who already earn more money, they really want to buy cars. This is because they think car is representative of wealth and also they could go anywhere and anytime comfortably, as in my village, there is little and very limited public transportation. In consequence, since people can get any various job and also get much money, my village’s streets are getting crowded of cars and delay people ’s productivity. Looking at this phenomenon in my small village that brings problems, governments as the rulers have to take action. The number of car owners has to be controlled in such ways like raising the tax and releasing more improved public transportation. By raising the tax, people would think twice about buying cars, and the government could invest more in developing public transportation. With improvements of public transportation in terms of service, facilities, and affordability, for example, people who want to save their money would definitely switch from using their own vehicle. Finally, car numbers in traffic will decrease, and people will never get stuck in the road anymore. In conclusion, although people ’s prosperity gets higher than before and they can afford to buy cars, it brings a new problem to them themselves: traffic jams. The government could do anything to solve this issue, but I personally suppose that they should upraise the car tax and using this tax to maintain more public transportation.