In many countries, people are consuming more sugar-based drinks than before. Why is this happening, and what could be done to reduce sugary drink consumption?

It is undoubtedly the case that people in developed and developing countries around the world face challenges and suffer from the problems generated by the regular consumption of more sugar-based drinks as compared to a decade ago. There are several relevant reasons for this not only boosting energy but also taste preference and results of sedentary habits. However, this can be mitigated by the concerted efforts of individuals and the governing authorities. Specifically, there are several factors that have led to consuming more sugary drinks. One of the predominant causes is the lack of a healthier diet. To be more specific, nowadays, a lot of chemicals are used in the production of food due to the lack of nutrients and individuals feel overtired. To reduce this fatigue humans give preference to energy drinks and them consume. For example, with a hectic schedule youngsters drink red bull or monster in their routine and work. The solution is for minimising this, produce chemical-free foods full of vitamins and proteins, also educate people about the harmful effects of pesticides used during farming on their health. Moving on, another major reason is teenagers like the taste and give preference to sugary items rather than healthy drinks. This is because children purchased sugar-based drinks with junk food and enjoy outings with a friend circle. For example, Tim Cooper, a researcher at Hallam University UK, points out that 87% increase in stores or restaurants which provide easily sugary items to individuals all over England from 2003 to 2017. To tackle this issue, the government should impose high taxation on these foods and drinks so that this affects their sales and people are less likely to be the high amounts for minimum beverages. In addition, the third cause of the problem is an increase in sedentary habits among people. As a result, with amelioration in technology most work is done by machinery and individual have more free time, individuals become couch potato and make habit of consuming unhealthier drinks. The way forward could be, to increase awareness through campaigns and take help from the media so that people become active and minimise these sedentary habits. In conclusion, the consumption of sugary drink day by day increased due to the lack of energy, individual demand and unusual habits. Despite it is a serious issue that can be resolved with improvement in the food production process, levied high taxes and educating people. My perspective is that various measures can be taken collectively by the public and higher authorities to combat this sensitive issue.