Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

In recent years, more and more students are focusing on humanistic subjects at university. As a consequence, people are concerned about the falling number of science graduates. I partially agree with the statement, however, there are many aspects to consider. For this reason, it would be necessary to analyze arguments in support and against this thesis. To support this opinion, it is important to consider the rising demand for STEM graduates. As a consequence of technological development, engineers, economists and doctors are among the most required professions. Thus, a low number of attendants to scientific academic courses can be an issue. In contrast, nowadays students can choose what to specialize in among a wider amount of programs. The primary pro of the new structure of high-level education is the opportunity to study many fascinating subjects. For instance, universities can be attended by people who are not interested in science. In other terms, if youngsters prefer to study philosophy, we can do nothing about it. In conclusion, students must be free to choose to study whatever they prefer. Due to this situation, it is the responsibility of the market to create incentives to start a career in the scientific sector.