Many employers believe that good social skills are as important as good qualifications to succeed in a job, so they are employing people who are with good social skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many employers believe that excellent communication abilities play a vital role in the workplace. Although I accept that great soft skills lead to strong success, I partly agree with this idea and I will outline the reasons in the following essay. There are several main reasons why it could be argued that companies should employ those with great communication skills. Firstly, a majority of firms rely on maintaining relations with customers and those who excel at communication may have a positive impact on the rate of customer satisfaction. For instance, advanced brands are likely to hire employees with persuasive and understandable talking abilities. Therefore, consumers are more satisfied with their services and are likely to buy more products. Secondly, good social skills contribute to better teamwork at workplaces, which improves the effectiveness of a team. Moreover, if there are different opinions between co-workers, the conflict may be eased easily. However, I would agree with those who believe employers should not only employ people based on their social skills. It is mainly because there are some jobs that do not require a lot of communication, such as operators and clerical workers. Companies have no right to reject people with outstanding working skills but who suffer from social anxiety disorders. Furthermore, everyone has their own strengths. Companies should hire people who meet the educational requirements and those with practical working skills so that the company can operate better. In conclusion, I believe that both sides of the argument have merits. Nevertheless, I believe various factors can be considered by employers to achieve the best results.