In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature), and boys choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

Picking subjects can be a tough task for students, and some schools and universities have noted that more boys enrol on science classes while art ones are full of girls. Firstly, women think that an individual career, such as working with literature, is the easiest path to succeed professionally. Moreover, this trend must change as everyone should have the same opportunities to apply their knowledge in the professional field. First and foremost, girls prefer to take art classes to avoid competition against men when applying for jobs that usually require a science background. Furthermore, many companies give advantages to male candidates, especially when it comes to leadership roles, increasing their interest in this field. For example, research has proved that 75% of the interviewed companies would prefer to hire men because the maternity leave right does not apply to them. To summarize, even though many women still believe that following a career in the field of art would be better for them, the business environment has started to see a change in this scenario. Apart from the noted difference among genders, schools and universities must motivate girls to pick more science lectures, so this tendency would not exist anymore. Governments have been working hard on new laws and policies to reduce inequality between men and women in the workspace, and educational sites must do the same. For instance, studies have shown that countries that motivate female students to follow a scientific carrier have the highest rates of women in leadership positions. Therefore, I strongly believe this trend must change by motivating girls to follow other areas of study. To conclude, there are often more female students in art classes because they prefer to avoid competition against boys in scientifical professions. Although many girls have been taking on important roles in companies lately, schools and universities must motivate them to take science lectures in order to reduce gender inequality.