Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Having a 12 months break before proceeding to an institution of higher learning at the end of college has become a norm nowadays. This practice has some merits among others acquiring extra skills and also giving families enough time to prepare financially, it also has some drawbacks like missing a whole academic day and the tendency of children to join bad gangs. This essay will discuss both sides with examples and draw a conclusion. To begin, staying at home for one term after completion of high academy before embarking on university is advantageous. Firstly, a youth that spent extra months has an opportunity of obtaining some skills like the haircut, fashion designing, hair weaving and so on. This learned work can be of great help to the young chap and family at largein large future. For instance, my younger sister spent more than a calendar age before admission into a tertiary institution and used it to acquire knowledge on how to bake. She used the profit of that during her leisure time to fend for her food during her university period, also does not need to stay idle because of her lack of a job. Secondly, that moment of rest allows families especially the low-income ones rest from o level education expenses and prepare for the monetary challenge of university. My friend's brother who read medicine was able to do so because he had a delay in gaining entrance to medical faculty immediately after he finished college. Though not deliberate but according to my friend, had he gained admission as soon as he wanted, the family would have been able to handle the cost due to economic constraints. Moreover, as good as the one-year rest may look, it is not without demerits. The delay in assuming varsity education will cause the young star to lose a full academic stage thereby being behind his mates. This can cause emotional imbalance. Taking my mind back reminds me of a staff who always laments the pain of running an errand for her senior colleague who was supposed to be her mate if he had proceeded to university with them after finishing their high school. Her words, " if not condition, will you be sending me". Furthermore, there is the a Choose an article the a show examples possibility of teens joining cults or drug addicts if they stay at home idle without proper monitoring. In conclusion, a moment delay before starting undergraduate studies is beneficial as well as disadvantageous as it can help train a child in good handwork and adjust the family for tasksahead task ahead but could also predispose the young adult to danger and cause emotional trauma of missing academic period.