Nowadays, many people have to work longer hours and they feel stressed out than before. What are the reasons for stress at the workplace? What can employers do to make their employees life easier?

Stress, especially the workplace one has soared multifariously in the recent years. This is because employees have to perform for countless hours and it directly impacts their behavior reflecting in personal as well as in professional lives. This essay shall discuss various reasons for this phenomenon along with measures that will help to mitigate the situation. There are plenty of job related burdens. Setting up deadlines and unrealistic goals effect physical as well as mental well being of an individual, if he fails to accomplish the task on time. In addition, employees are asked to do errands which are beyond their expertise and qualifications. For an instance, despite being selected for a particular position, nowadays supervisors expect their workers to be multi-tasking, that in turn makes them pressurized. Not only heavy workload, but also insufficient workload leads to stress at workplace. Last but not least, it can also be caused by lack of job security and poor working condition such as inadequate lighting and uncomfortable seating. Employers can take measure to alleviate workplace stress. To begin with, supervisors must ensure that they set challenging, but realistic goals in order to maintain work-life balance. Also, reducing number of office hours will automatically increase productivity with less stress. Workers should be given favorable conditions to work in as they spend most of the day at workplace. Similarly, entitlements such as incentives, rewards and holidays would work wonders when given to employees. The more the benefits, the better the productivity. To ensure stress free environment, organization should organize yoga classes once a month to promote healthy lifestyle. To sum up, stress cannot be eliminated from life, be it personal or professional. However, adapting to new approaches that boost confidence, productivity and efficiency proves to be beneficial to the employee as well as employer.