Town and cities are attractive places. Some people suggest that the government should spend money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues to make them better to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are people asserting that authorities should allocate budget to artistic schemes which make the cities more attractive to city dwellers. However, I completely disagree with this notion due to compelling reasons which will be elaborated in this essay. To begin with, there are other plans which are more beneficial for citizens than erecting statues in the streets. In other words, the budget of governments is limited, so they ought to choose between numerous plans, and approve schemes that can bring more prosperity to people. For instance, many cities have poor public transportation systems; hence the mayors should alter buses and subways instead of paying for artwork. Another argument against this idea is that taste in art varies between people. That is, a piece of art may seem very charming to a person while it would be a meaningless object to another person. As a result, it would be an impossible mission for authorities in charge of choosing artworks for the cities to find a work that everybody likes it. The alternative is for everybody to pay for the genre that appeals to them, and not allocate the government to these plans. In conclusion, although many folk believe that it is the government's obligation to spend public funds on artistic works which can be presented in the city streets, I disagree with this idea because the artistic taste is not similar in society, and the public budget is restricted.