In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

The practice of making payments for things bought in shops may cease to exist in the days to come. Rather, it might be done electronically, either by using debit/credit cards or through various payment portals available on mobile phone. Digitalization has seeped into every aspect of our life and shopping is no exception to it. Although, some may not accept this shift due to their habit, sooner or later, all the activities involving giving or receiving money would be carried out digitally. Keeping in view the present scenario where people are gradually moving away from the traditional methods of giving cash while shopping and replacing it with other easier options, it can definitely be said that use of physical money would slowly diminish and later wade away in the years to come. This will be a boon for many due to the fact that it makes the transaction easier. Also, one can maintain the proof of payment alongwith all the relevant details like amount, date and time for a future reference. In addition, such options also prove to be beneficial to avoid the hassle created by unavailability of change. For instance, buying vegetables from a local vendor or a getting a pair of shoes repaired from a cobbler are some of the situations which demand smaller denomination of money and if the person accepts googlepay or paytm, the reason for a loss for either of the parties can be easily avoided. On the contrary, individuals who are not used to handling gadgets or are uncomfortable with technology may not like this change. Further, they may also fear accepting this method due to the probability of getting cheated. Furthermore, all these non-cash dealings rely upon the network connectivity and when some problem occurs in the connection, it may lead to embarrasment for both the seller and the buyer. In conclusion, the day is not too far when all of us would be using one or the other digital platforms to purchase things. Eventhough, it has got some dangers associated with it, equipping oneself with correct knowledge and vigilance towards monetary activities would surely help the society in moving ahead in the path of technological development