Many young people move out of their homes to live alone or to live with their friends. Some people think this is a good idea. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The concept of moving out of the home at a relatively young age is a commonly practised one, especially in the Western world. I personally disagree with this and feel that this way of thinking has a tremendous negative impact on individuals, families, and society at large. With this in mind is moving out really worth it? Firstly, the support system provided by living at home with family is crucial for mental and physical well-being. Within mental health, one of the best indicators for recovery from any mental illness is having a strong support system around the patient. On the other hand, living alone can be very dangerous for those struggling mentally. This is even more concerning when we factor in that suicide is the highest cause of mortality in those under 35. In contrast, there is also the health of a person's parents that we must consider. As we all age the risk of morbidity increases. Historically as the older generation aged, the younger members of the family would help support them. With so many choosing to leave home at a younger stage of life, there is no one left to look after the ageing population. This in turn has resulted huge increases in the demand for nursing homes, to help care for those left isolated by their offspring. We also have to consider the effects on society at large. A strong nuclear family is at the heart of any successful community. When the youth leave home, they in turn break down a key component of what it means to be a thriving society. In addition to this, we can't forget the wisdom that the older population possess. When children grow and leave home, they are potentially missing out on benefiting from crucial life lessons from those older than them. From my own experience, I found leaving home to study at university to be very challenging. I felt that I lost a really important part of my support system. When I moved back home I really appreciated how important it was to have parents and siblings in my corner. In conclusion, we might feel that leaving our homes is a sign of independence and prosperity, but we fail to recognise that this has profound consequences on ourselves, those we love the most, and society at large.