Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. (2-part question) Why is this? What effects does this have on society?

With a myriad of career options to choose from nowadays, not a lot of students are opting to study science subjects in college. This essay discusses what could be the factors that attribute to such tendency among learners and how this could bring with deluge of repercussions. For a start,/For one thing,(sequencing linker)it could be argued that with globalisation and advancement of technology and business,there has been a development of array of new courses at universities and professions which could not only provide lucrative compensation, status, but also a good return on investment as opposed to that of few years ago when the number of courses a student could choose as well as the chances of employability in subjects other than sciences were extremely restricted. Besides this,/Alongside this, standard science subjects, such as Applied Chemistry, Physics and Biology were highly demanding and popular among students with good cognitive competence, problem solving skills,most of the learners who lacked the scientific temperament were loathsome /reluctant/unwilling to take up such difficult and mundane science subjects as they could neither bear with the burden of understanding of complex concepts, and therefore end up mugging up without any conceptual clarity which in turn substantially reduced their grades nor put in so much of patience and persistence in working out deluge of problems to become experts /to gain expertise.(Give an evidence for anyone point) However,/ Nevertheless,/ Nonetheless, learners have now understood that they could become subject matter specialists in subjects other than science by putting in less efforts. Having said that, what would be more worrisome /a far more serious concern would be a dearth of Intellectual Scientific learners and researchers with few people pursuing careers in science and related fields which could considerably decline /diminish the number of technological discoveries, innovations that could result in a slowdown in economy, business, trade.Give an evidence / This could be exemplified by the developing countries who hardly have any advanced technology are compelled to import the scientific know how from other nations,and that is exorbitantly pricey. you can give another point / round off with something relevant but not repetitive. To conclude, /In conclusion, even though fewer students are choosing to study science as they struggle with/grapple with learning the theories, it cannot be denied, /no one can deny that this could lead to a workforce which would lack science researchers / this could lead to fewer scientific inventions which could reduce the pace of development of the nation. / This could stifle development of nation which would have to depend on other nations for …….