People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What is the solution to make people drink less?

It is a fact that people tend to consume more and more sugary beverages. This essay will analyse the root causes of this issue and then suggest remedies to reduce sugar-based drinks consumption. There are two primary driving forces behind there is a continuous increase in sugar-sweetened beverages utilisation. One of the main causes of this trend is that this kind of drink gives people an instant energy boost, increases their mental alertness and helps consumers to maintain high concentration necessary for their work. Most modern jobs are becoming more and more demanding and require employees to spend greater effort to succeed, consequently leading to the popularity of sugar-based beverages. Another major reason is consumers’ lack of awareness and knowledge about a healthy diet and lifestyle as well as the dominance of fast food in the food industry. That is why a sedentary lifestyle and convenient but nutrient-poor meals which include sugar-sweetened drinks such as Coca-cola, and Pepsi are being favoured by a large number of people. However, some effective and feasible actions can be taken to curb the sugary beverages consumption. Firstly, a simple solution would be for governments to impose higher tax on sugary drinks, which inevitably increase their price. Thereby, fewer inhabitants choose to drink the sugar-sweetened. As equally important, governments, organisations should run more educational propagation campaigns in order to enhance individuals’ understanding and encourage them to follow healthier diets and lifestyles as well as refrain from sugary drinks. In conclusion, there are some underlying factors for the problem of people having more and more sugar-based drinks. It can be addressed by increasing taxes on sweetened beverages and running some propagation campaigns that promote consumers to use less of this kind of drink