In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects, while boys choose science subjects. What is the reason? Should the trend be changed?

Boys and girls have to divide subjects when they are in high school and college and choose their favourite subjects for further study. Usually, in science classes, the number of boys far outnumbers girls, but in liberal arts classes, the opposite is true; the number of girls far outnumbers boys. However, I think this trend should change. On the one hand, there is a general understanding of the division of labour between men and women in society, and this stereotype has been solidified. It is believed that boys should study science and girls should choose liberal arts. Under the influence of this social atmosphere, young people sometimes do not follow their own hearts in their choice of arts and sciences but choose to follow the crowd blindly. This leads to the phenomenon that boys choose science and girls choose liberal arts. On the other hand, boys and girls have larger biological differences, and boys are generally stronger and have better physical strength than girls. Therefore, in terms of job choices, girls are more inclined to choose lighter jobs, while boys can accept even if they are tired. This is an important reason why boys and girls choose subjects differently. This trend needs to be changed. Firstly, boys should not be divided into subjects; they should be able to choose the subjects they like. We all know that people are more productive when they do things they enjoy rather than things they dislike. Students should choose the subjects they like so that they can develop their expertise in the field they are good at and make more contributions to society. Secondly, allowing them to choose their favourite subjects will enable them to choose their preferred career direction after graduation. This will increase their life satisfaction and sense of accomplishment.