Nowadays it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, some people experience problems when they are not be able to pay their debts back. In your opinion, do the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages

Opinions are divided as to whether the use of credit cards should be encouraged. In my perspective, while there are drawbacks to the use of a credit card, I believe that it brings about much more benefits. To begin with, there are several advantages to owning credit cards. Firstly, it is very convenient to use credit cards as various shops all over the world support credit card payment. Secondly, since these days various nations turn to be cashless societies, a credit card is one of the methods which encourage people in the societies to change their behaviors as it is quick and easy. Finally, there are a number of rewards which customers can earn from credit cards, for instance, cash back, reserved car park at department stores, and premium lounges at airports. Despite these benefits, having credit cards also have drawbacks. First of all, credit card allow people to access money all the time which lead to unnecessary purchases and overspending their budgets and this will create debts with very high interest rates. Furthermore, paying by a credit card may be more expensive than paying by cash as certain shops also charge an additional approximately 2-3% for credit card payment. Lastly, credit card may still be susceptible to fraud as fraudsters or thieves may also steal credit card information and then make improper use of the card, for example, performing transactions with all transaction limit, or purchasing an illegal good. In conclusion, I can understand that some people might still prefer to carry cash around, but it seems to me that the advantages of a credit card far outweigh the disadvantages.