Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favour.

Abuse of tobacco products is an age old activity and is gaining more prevalence in the society every passing decade. Few countries have taken stand against smoking in public areas like work places and eateries and others nations think otherwise. We will be discussing both sides in this essay and conclude it with my opinion. On one hand, The proponents of the law state that not only smoking has severe ill affects on the person’s own health, but also compromises the well being of the people nearby, specially the child population. This means passive smoking might cause major health hazards. Moreover, they also point out that it can influence the youngsters and make them addicted to such substances thereby making them vulnerable to severe health issues in the future. On the other hand, the opponents of this rule cite that every human has freedom to act as they like and By this they imply that such rules are regressing their free-will. Additionally, they highlight that the smokers are addicted and may have a sudden urge to smoke. It could be challenging task to find a place to smoke when in a meeting or a public gathering. This perhaps could lead to reduced amount of public interaction and may make them isolated from rest of the pupils. Overall, it seems logical to conclude that everyone has a right to chose and freedom to act as they like, but this can not exclude the fact that people need to be morally more responsible and not cause harm to others, especially in terms of health.