Many businesses think that the new employees who have just graduated from schools lack interpersonal skills, such as working with colleagues as a team. What has caused this and what are the solutions to this problem?

Many employers complain about the insufficient practical skills of their newly hired workers who graduated from schools recently, and said they lack necessary abilities, such as teamwork spirit. This essay will discuss the potential reasons behind this phenomenon and provide some solutions to address this issue. Graduated students can lack interpersonal skills because of the unbalanced curricula designed by schools. That means in most cases, colleges mainly focus on teaching theoretical knowledge, and care less about providing enough methods to let their students apply the knowledge they have learned in a real-world setting. Therefore, to achieve good academic performances and graduate from school smoothly, pupils try their best in calculation, writing and choosing the best answer from multiple choices, rather than practising their problem-solving abilities, communication approaches or teamwork spirit, leading to an unsatisfied performance in work settings. For example, according to research, most youngsters said they had never learned about the importance of teamwork until they enter a real company after their graduation. To solve the problem, there are many practical solutions. Firstly, schools can upgrade their course settings and require students to have enough intern or voluntary work hours recorded before their graduation. By becoming an intern or a volunteer, young people can learn how to express their idea effectively, work with other team members, and advocate their opinions in a proper way, resulting in an improvement in their overall interpersonal skills. In addition, colleges and universities can hire some part-time professors who are working in real companies now, and this can help students understand the real requirements of their future careers, which can motivate them to develop their practical skills themselves. For instance, one of my professors is working as a vice president in New Balance, so the final exam of his course was not an essay or some answers to pre-designed questions, instead, he required us to do a survey about the consumption preference of local people, which is highly commented because the practical skills we could learn during the progress. In conclusion, because of the unbalanced course design, students nowadays only focus on learning knowledge, leading to insufficient practical skills and complaints from their future employers about this. To solve the problem, schools can require students to do intern jobs before their graduate or hire professors in real working settings to help students understand the importance of interpersonal skills.