During holidays or weekends, young people spend less time on outdoor activities in the natural environment, such as hiking and mountain climbing. Why? What can be done to encourage them to go out?

In this day and age, young generations are hardly interested in participating in outdoor activities ranging from hiking to mountain climbing especially during holidays or weekends. In this essay I will explain the reason as well as proposing several solutions. There are a number of factors that lead to this problem. Recently, most children have been increasingly overwhelmed with a hectic schedule. Since, they have plenty of extra activities to do, not only the homework at school but also extra classes. As a result, a young person becomes completely exhausted during weekdays, and will not be energetic enough in order to be more inclined toward the weekend practicing sports outdoors. Moreover, most parents do not promote a downtime for their children to appreciate sports. For these reasons, the practice of outdoor exercises is not done with high frequency. In taking those problems, schools should foster the children to engage in more activities in form of a competition or extra curricular activities. For example, schools could increase the number of weekly running or climbing classes, and organize competition at the end of each term. Thereby, students would be willing to spend more time walking, mountaineering during the school term, in preparation for the competition. This would reduce the amount of time children spent online and eventually boost their desire to spend more time enjoying the natural environment. In conclusion, the primary reason why young generations are unwilling to join outdoor activities is on account of the tight schedule. Opening more recreational sports and offering frequent competitions at school is a great way to motivate children to spend their leisure time in the future.