Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate and reach a conclusion

In contemporary days, where the majority of companies are focused on rising their outputs, since then there has been a significant change in the way that association treat their personnel. For this reason, the subsidized programs such as memberships had generated the belief that it will motivate employees to have more production and make them healthier. However, this stance is not supported by other companies, which argue that these benefits can not be reached with this strategy. On the one hand, those who support that perks will enhance the health and productivity of workers promote the idea that these benefits have a relation with the effectiveness of the work that has been made. First, due to the time spent practising some sports,perhaps the workers arrive at the job, more relaxed about the activity made. This is an indicator of health and can motivate the employees to get job satisfaction from this environment. Finally, it is statically demonstrated the link between sports and health. Canada is a compelling example, where the companies allow workers to practice any sports, giving them an additional hour from their scheduled work. On the other hand, opponents of giving these benefits claim that this is not the better approach to tackle the issue of productivity in a company. Although is well-know the benefits of practising sports, it seems that employers are considering that all the workers will devote time to these activities. For instance, the employees from the gym Smart Fit are given free membership to this gym; however, only 10% of them use it. Another reason is that when a company wants to motivate their employees is taking care of them. By this we mean, that employers must promote work-life balance and financial rewards to whom stand out in the company to generate job satisfaction. In conclusion, it seems advisable that affiliations to sports clubs or gyms can promote efficiency in work; however, it is conditioned for the habits of the worker and the environment that give the company. Consequently, it is advisable for companies to focus on work-life balance and give bonuses to their employees in order to promote productivity.