In modern times, children are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occurred? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

It is true that nowadays children prefer to spend time with their friend instead of their family. In this,essay I will outline the reasons why I don’t agree that parents should compel their children to devote their time to family. There are, I feel, two main reasons. Firstly, children share the same interests with their peers. When children of similar ages, tend to have similar hobbies such as video games, sports, and music, in turning invariably leads to them having more fun playing with each other and sharing the same values. What this does is make it absolutely essential. Secondly, young people are passionate about social media and other cutting-edge technology. For example, Facebook, which is a highly popular social networking website, is attracted many young people to share news on it, arguably resulting in them spending most of their time keeping in contact with each other, and this often leads to isolation from their family. However, I don’t agree that parents should force their children to stay with them. One reason is it will bring resentment in children ’s minds. If parents make their children do so but not follow their own wills, they cannot understand the reason behind this behaviour, and this may well make them feel angry and disappointed and is extremely detrimental. Another compelling reason is compulsory cannot bring happiness. My cousin Mike, for instance, who is 15 years old, is asked to spend most of his time with family. As such he felt frustrated and become depressed last year, which is ultimately why children will not be happy if you force them to do things they don’t like. Overall, there are obvious reasons why children like to spend their time with other children more than their parents and I believe that parents should not force them to do things they don’t want to.