Some think that it is more important for children to engage in outdoor activities instead of playing video games. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

Because video games are becoming more popular with children than ever, many parents express their worries about whether or not their children should spend time outdoors instead of playing games. I believe that video games are good, but only in moderation. Engaging in outdoor activities is always good for children for various reasons. Outdoor activities are better than video games for both their physical health and morals. Playing video games means looking at high-contrast screens for an extended period, which is damaging to children ’s eyes. Also, today’s games involve blatant violence, which can distort their moral beliefs. Secondly, doing outdoor activities is a way to connect with their neighborhood. For example, when hanging outdoors, like playing soccer, children can develop their communication skills between their playmates and a sense of belonging with that community. However, that is not to say that video games are not important for child development. Firstly, video games teach children technology fluency, which is a skill essential in the current society. For example, many children who play video games grow up being familiar with computer hardware and keyboard shortcuts. These skills would come in handy for them in the future. Secondly, I believe parents should not prevent children from playing video games as these games can serve as career inspirations. For example, children can be interested in the storyline or the graphic design of games and be motivated to become pro-gamers or game developers. In conclusion, the benefits of hanging outdoors are undeniable for child development. However, I believe that, in some cases, allowing children to engage in video games can also be important. Parents should understand that moderation is the key in both types of activities.